Tory Burch Minnie travel ballet flats

My favourite designer, Tory  Burch has created a new twist on her classic Reva flats.  They are called the Minnie travel ballet flats.  They look just like her iconic Revas but that’s where it ends.  The nappa leather leather used on the uppers is much softer and less structured than that used on the Revas making it very foot friendly. The  soles are like pillows for your feet.  Dare I say it feels like you’re floating on air. The Tory medallions on the toes are still metal but come in the same basic tonal colour as the flat itself. If you’ve every heard of Tieks flats, these Minnie flats are quite similar but with a Tory twist.  They are called travel flats cuz they’re made to be folded up and put in your handbag or purse, just like Tieks. I don’t think I’ll  ever do that with mine and besides, only on certain occasions do I carry a purse. The first pair of these I bought were the Laguna blue ones. These were given two thumbs up by my close friend Jen.  While buying them the gunmetal pair also caught my eye.  I think they appealed to me cuz that’s the colour of my little Honda Accord coupe. These first two pairs were bought at the TB boutique in Scottsdale in March while on vacation.  Shortly after I got home from that vacation my local TB sales associate put a gold pair aside for me to try.  I guess the picture will tell you if I bought them or not. Haha.  The gunmetal pair has a certain iridescent look to them in certain lighting conditions.  So does the gold pair but in the direct sunlight the gold pair just POP’s with all the colours of the rainbow.  I likely won’t get the green or red pair but if they are every made in black. Count me in, sign me up or let me at them.  So far the online reviews are good.  Most women (or men) find the Revas need some breaking in.  The Minnie are comfy right out of the box.  If your a fan of Tory flats you need to try a pair of these. image image image imageDSC06177 DSC06199DSC06303DSC06557 image image image image image image DSC07132DSC07143

dsc08384dsc08390

image image image image DSC06113DSC06197 DSC06173DSC06301 DSC06207DSC06377DSC06566 imageimage DSC07302   DSC07351 image image image

dsc08382

32 thoughts on “Tory Burch Minnie travel ballet flats

  1. carmen

    I love these colours Brian! I just bought two new pairs of flats from Target’s closing sale: silver and black. I plan to do a post on ballet flats eventually, because they are stylish and comfortable. Very important for footwear.

    Have a great weekend!

    ❤ carmen

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Oh Carmen, THANK YOU for your kind words. It’s kinda sad Target came and went so quickly in Canada but I’m glad you were able to grab a couple pairs of cute flats during the closing. I was pretty happy to get the blue pair of Minnie’s since blue is my favourite colour and then when I saw the gunmetal ones I also couldn’t resist. As I said it was my local TB SA that suggested the gold ones for me. I wasn’t sure about them at fisrt but they to are such a fun colour.

      Thanks for stopping by Carmen, I look forward to reading your post about your flats. If you need any additional picture or words from the male perspective please let me know, I’d love to help.
      Hugs 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. carmen

        Thank you Brian, I appreciate that very much and will call upon you! This style of shoe is for everyone who likes them. If I was a guy, I would wear them, most men’s shoes are so clunky and unattractive. Women wear clunky running shoes if they want to, the same kind guys wear. It’s a matter of taste and comfort. Let each person wear what makes them happy and comfortable! ❤

        Like

      1. ToryBri Post author

        Hi Jacquelyn, thanks for giving us the heads-up on the new colour of TB Minnies. As soon as I read your comments I instantly started searching for the black ones.
        I see Nordstroms has them (http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/tory-burch-minnie-travel-ballet-flat-with-logo-women/3979217?origin=category-personalizedsort&contextualcategoryid=0&fashionColor=Black+Leather&resultback=480 ) They also have them in the light oak colour. OHHH Tory’s done it again. 🙂

        Thanks for stopping by Jacquelyn.

        Like

  2. ToryBri Post author

    Oh Carmen! THANK-YOU THANK-YOU THANK-YOU again for your kind words and support. It brings a smile to my face to know that if you were a guy you too would wear ballet flats instead of a clunky pair men’s shoes. I know for a fact there are at least a handful of other guys in this world that also prefer ballet flats over clunky men’s shoes. Ballet flats are comfortable but as a guy who wears flats there is another type of comfort that is required that most women never realize. Ballet flats are most often viewed as feminine looking. So for a guy to feel comfortable being seen wearing them he will likely have to be a bit less masculine and certainly ok with being perceived as a bit more feminine. I’ve often heard you can tell a lot about a guy by the shoes he wears. I’m pretty sure I know what my ballet flats say about me. But I’m OK with being perceived this way cuz I’m comfortable in my own skin. I think my comfort level of wearing flats is often revealed to by the colours I choose to by for myself.

    Yes Carmen, please call for any help on your post about ballet flats.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pinkpanther222

    Brian those Tory Burch Minnie ballet flats look fantastic on you. They look so comfortable. Love the blue ones on you. I am another guy that loves to wear ballet flats on a regular basis because of the comfort and many color options available. I have numerous pairs of Gap City foldable ballet flats in various colors. The TB Minnie ballet flats are on my wish/want list.
    Thanks Carmen for your thoughts and input regarding men wearing ballet flats. Although my wife was initially against me wearing my ballet flats in public she now sees that it adds to my overall fashion look/enjoyment.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Thanks for your kind words PP. It always nice to hear positive comments about someone’s personal fashion choices. The fact that designers label their products for a certain gender is just a guideline or suggestion, I doesn’t mean it’s not made to be worn by everyone. I still remember when I bought my very first pair of Tory’s. I thanked the sales associate, Lyndsey, for making me feel comfortable in the boutique while buying my flats even though these Tory’s aren’t specifically designed for my gender. She quickly replied back, “at Tory Burch we think EVERYONE should be able to enjoy our great flats.” Those words made me feel so good.

      Thanks for stopping by PP and enjoy your flats.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Ivan

    Hi Brian,
    Love this Minnie flats they look so beautiful and comfortable that I asked TB at Yordale ans Holt Renfrew in Montréal if the carry those flats in their stores and if they ship them to my town. I have 2 pairs of TB Revas and they took me 2 months to break in, so if this flats from TB doesn’t need break in they would be one of my favorites. Thanks a lot Carmen for your words of encouragement to men taht we love to wear flats, I prefer 1000 times a pair of stylish and comfortable flats rather than heavy and boring men shoes, by the way I got 2 pairs of S&L bow flats at Target and I love them it’s like wearing slippers one of the many reasaons that I love to wear flats. If you need some feedback or brands of flats that I can recommend to your article please let me know.
    Have a good day in flats

    Ivan

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Hi Ivan. I hope your quest for a pair of Tory Minnie travel flats goes well. What colour are you wanting to get? I feel that the Minnie travel flats are very similar to the Tory Burch Eddie flats comfort and fit wise.

      Thanks for stopping by and please let me know what you think of the TB Minnie flats.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Ivan

    Hi Bri,
    I contacted TB Canada and unfortunately they don’t have the color blue and silver that I wanted on store nor online in mi shoe size 10 😦 I think in the future I will visit the TB boutique at Yorkdale close Toronto to try their flats and get at least one pair.

    After some deception, I got a pair of Frye Carson flats in nubuck color camel and I really love them, I purchased online but size 9 was too small, and size 10 too big and after a nice story of receive and return by mail finally I got the size 9.5 that fit perfectly ! they feel like slippers, sometimes it’s hard to get cute flats in bigger sizes at stores and without trying them, online stores are a risky option, thinking seriously to open a boutique for tall ladies and guys who love to wear women shoes with sizes ranging from women shoe size 9.5 to 15….what do you think Bri and ladies??

    I love to wear my Frye carson flats with capris and jeans and as their color match with my skin color people most of the time doesn’t realize that I am wearing flats . Have a good day

    Ivan

    Like

    Reply
    1. ivanev

      Finally I got two pairs of this super comfy flats both at eBay in the colors that I liked and in my size and a really good price. I am waiting to see this flats in other colors at eBay to get them Really a good investment for my feet !! Love all your beautiful colorful collection of TB minnie flats !

      Like

      Reply
  6. The Domestic Rebel

    I have yet to try Tory Burch flats but I’ve heard phenomenal things about them and your post just sealed the deal! Next paycheck, I’m gonna try to track down a pair methinks. I love all of the colors you picked – Laguna Blue is fabulous for summertime!! However, I am in love with the gunmetal. That’s such a fun and unexpected neutral color. So glad you love your flats, and thank YOU for this review!

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Ahhhh, Thanks for your kind words. “Me’s thinks” you need some Tory’s and I should get some Tieks. Both Tory and Tieks have amazing colours when it comes to ballet flats. Of course the comfort and quality of both are also amazing.

      Thanks for also loving the gunmetal ones. Not only do they match the colour of my car they are also one of my super awesome favorite colours.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Anilu Magloire

    OMG, Brian! Your TB collection is out of this world! I’m as obsessed as you. But my little collection is nothing like yours. You have great taste!
    Loved being able to put a face on the guy I like so much!
    Great blog 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Hi Anilu. Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. Glad you share the same love for these amazing Tory flats. We both have great taste. 🙂
      Glad I was able to put a face to the name behind the comments I left for you.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Diana and Tess

    so glad I found your blog again! Ok thoughts on the Minnie? I’m not a fan that they got rid of the classic reva, and I need a new good pair. Did you like the minnie?

    Like

    Reply
  9. ToryBri Post author

    I’m glad you found me too. 🙂 Welcome back. OK – my 100% honest opinion (and 99% of this proven thru a very reliable source) is Tory Burch had LOTS of complains about the elastic around the heel on the Revas. So she changed it. And now there are those of us that loved the elastic back and don’t like the new style. Poor Tory, this must drive her nuts!

    As for the Minnie they are uber comfy right out of the box. Softer leather, cushy sole but again to be 100% honest I don’t think they are as durable. Although my fix for this is buy more so you have more pairs to wear out.

    Takes for stopping by.
    Bri

    Like

    Reply
  10. Jean of all Trades

    It’s perfect that I’m wearing ballet flats today, while catching up on your blog, Brian. I love your style and attitude and agree with Carmen and the others that ballet flats (and any shoe/garment) should be for anyone who wants to wear them. I like the idea of a shoe store for larger sizes. It must be hard for men to buy “women’s” shoes since the sizes stop at W10 or so. I also know women who have a hard time shopping for shoes because they wear larger sizes. They would love a store like that!

    Ivan – my flats are “ballet pink” and similar to my skin tone. Someone in my office thought I was walking around barefoot! So I know what you mean about matching!

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Hello Jean. THANKS for putting on your flats and stopping by. Attitudes towards anyone who wants to show their own personal style (regardless of what it is) are changing. Like Carmen said, ballet flats, women’s sandals or women’s boots should be for everyone. I had those feelings many years ago and that’s why I started wearing what I wanted in footwear. I did it for me, not someone else. The positive support from people like you justifies my decision to do so, THANK YOU!

      It can be difficult for both women and men that need larger sized shoes. Thankfully Tory makes her flats and shoes in larger sizes. In the TB boutiques they go up to size 11 but at places like Nordstroms they carry Tory flats up to size 13. I’m sure that makes lots of women and even some men very happy.

      Your ballet pink flats sound very cute. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your positive thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. ivanev

      Hi Jean, Yes I have same issue when I wear my flats in color tan or camel so many friends think that I am also walking barefeet but not I am enjoying my comfty flats like a chamaleon haha 😉

      Like

      Reply
  11. Casandra Alexis

    Hi Brian! It’s me Casandra from Pinterest and yes I got the laguna blue ones. It is so nice to see your collection. I am also obsessed with them now. I also want them in green and black but it’s quiet expensive here in the Philippines and the colors and sizes are very limited.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Hi Casandra, Thanks for stopping by my pinterest friend. The LAGUNA blue ones were the first “must have” pair of TB Minnes for me. Glad you got yourself a pair too. I really want the patent olive green colour. I hope you find the sizes and colours you’re looking for.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Farhana

    Hii Brian,

    Greetings from Singapore! Thanks to your blog, I made the plunge and bought two pairs of the Minnie – French gray and burgundy! They are really soo comfortable. My question though: Are they durable? I’ve read reviews about easy scuffing etc. How do you care for them?

    Like

    Reply
    1. ToryBri Post author

      Hi Farhana,

      Greetings from Canada. Glad to hear I played a part in you getting the Minnie’s for yourself. 🙂
      French gray and Shiraz burgundy! We’re twins 😛 I hope you are loving them.
      There are so many great things about the TB Minnie’s but the one negative thing about them is exactly what you mentioned. They do scuff easy. I found that out with my first pair. I put a big scare on the toe when I bumped into something sharp. 😦 Now I am more careful and aware. I did try a mild leather conditioner but the damage is still visible. If you get them dirty and need to clean them I would suggest just a soft cloth and water, then dry them right away. The best thing is to be aware the are made of delicate leather and are prone to damage. My metallic pairs and patent pairs of Minnie’s as well as my Revas, Carolines and other styles are a bit more durable but even they will scuff. Best thing is be aware but they are shoes and will suffer some wear and tear over time.

      Are there any other colours that your thinking of getting?

      Thanks for stopping by from Singapore Farhana, have a great day 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Farhana

        Ooh, thanks for the heads-up. I’ll take note and try not to be too clumsy, haha. Next targets would probably be the all classic black flats, red patent one and I read there was a pewter one (not sure if it’s still in season though). I’m a willing party to the cult of TB Minnies. 😉 You have a great day/week ahead too!

        Like

    2. ivanev

      Hi Farhana,
      You are in the right place and with an expert of Tory Buch shoes, Brian really knows well this brand, and thanks to him I become a Tory Burch minnie travels flats’ fan. I have 9 pairs and ow cute and comfy they are. In my experience the soft leather scuffs easily, I wear my flats mostly indoors in the office, at home or when I know that I will go to places that the ground is not a disaster haha.

      The only minnie travels that really don’t scuff easily are the patent leather version, I tested last weekend walking 6 -7 hrs on streets that are really a mess due the city’s annual reparation and for my surprise they didn’t scuff or tear, they only got dirty but as Brain said with a lightly humid cloth you can clean them and the dry them with a clean dry cloth. Hope you will show us one of these days you beautiful collection of Minnie travels flats, I really love them !
      Have a nice day

      Ivan

      Like

      Reply
  13. ToryBri Post author

    Haha, even being as careful as we can we still bump into things 😦

    The classic black ones are certainly great and the patent red ones really “POP.” Maybe even more than my Chicory blue ones, haha (Have you seen the post with my Chicory blue ones? Here’s the link; https://davisbe.wordpress.com/2016/05/12/2016-tb-minnie-flats-update/ )
    I’m a big fan of the pewter, silvers and gold metallic and pearlized ones. What am I saying, I LOVE every pair of Tory’s! Part of the Tory Burch Cult right!

    You have a great day too

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

